USA Dead end job

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey all. I have been a staff accountant for 7 years at my current job. I started out as an accounting assistant and worked my way up. I pursued my undergraduate degree while working for my current employer and just recently graduated with a master's in accounting. I am currently studying for the CPA. My dilemma is that I have been stuck with a clerk job such as, AR/AP, and general ledger work. I am so bored at work it drives me crazy because it's routine and not challenging. I had approached my boss to provide me something challenging and to give me some experience in preparing the financial statement. Unfortunately my boss will not let me work on it because another accountant is in charge of the financials. I feel really stupid because I feel as if I don't have the experience. To add to that, I don't have any say in regards to take charge of the accounts i have responsibly for, AND my coworker always question why I code certain stuff into certain accounts. It's really frustrating when they change the work I put effort into.
So I have been activley seeking new opportunities for over 3 years, had some interviews but nothing. It doesn't help that I don't have the experience in other roles of accounting. I am starting wonder if I am dumb or just not cut out for this. It's just a dead end position for me with no advance position.

Steve-LevelUp

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
Canada
Please do not take this the wrong way, but at times, it can depend on how you carry yourself. Interviewing well is essentially a chance for them to get to know you, and if you don't come with the right energy, the right responses, and the able to convince them that you are the right fit, then you won't get the job.

Two things.

1. If they're interviewing you, then they believe you are qualified, but the interview you fell flat.