UK Kind of a theme I've touched upon before- but Profit on Disposal of Fixed Asset to a wholly owned subsidary?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, an accounting query.

Hopefully this one will be simpleish- I'm relatively new to getting into accounting.
:cool:

IF a company sells a fixed asset to a wholly owned subsidary- how should the profit be accounted for?

The kicker is that the ultimate parent or overall undertaking is based in Hong Kong or listed on HKSE and base din the Cayman Islands, but originally was solely UK based.

Birmingham sold St Andrews to a wholly owned subsidary last summer for £22,760,000, added to this was a deferred capital grant that was released of £1,466,357. Net Book Value on Disposal was £7,037,591...£17,188,766 was the p[profit, which was comprised of proceeds + capital grant-NBV!

Once again that seems fine, but my question is that if disposed to a wholly owned subsidary of Birmingham Sports Holdings Limited, should Birmingham City PLC, the largest UK based company show this profit as income to carry forward- whereas the Birmingham Sports Holdings Limited on the HKSE does not! Or should it cancel out?

Or should it be at Market/fair value for tax purposes- the latter seems moot as Birmingham City PLC posted a loss in any case and you can't be taxed on a loss in most circs!

I've read different answers to this Accounting q online.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Suppose the simplest bit of the question is, should a sale of a fixed asset to a wholly owned subsidary be:

a) At Fair Value
b) At Net Book/Book Value?

The stuff about HKSE listings and ownership in Cayman Islands of the ultimate company only adds trickiness.

Fidget

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom