USA Need Help Deciding on Transitioning to Accounting

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello,

I'm a hotel employee who is currently on extended furlough and wouldn't be surprised if I may lose my job due to the current crisis. I have a Bachelor's in Hospitality and Tourism Management and this industry will need a ton of time to recover (assuming post-vaccine). In this meantime, I was considering to return to school and transition into Accounting.

I don't know if a second Bachelor's Degree or a Master's Degree program is the way to go. I enjoyed and performed excellent in the Accounting classes I took for this degree (I was tutoring my classmates who struggled in those classes) so I think it is something I should explore further. I don't have any accounting work experience yet as I work in a hotel. The only loose related experience would be that I was a night auditor at the hotel to post charges and verify sheets to prepare the property management system for the next day of operations. If I were to enroll, I would reach out to my professors and the University's career services center to seek appropriate work experience that would count to sit for the CPA.

I would like to work at accounting firm or any place that offers great learning experience to help me figure out what exactly I want to do in Accounting (This part I still need to explore and figure out). I can also do Accounting for the hotel company I am already with (though hospitality has taken a huge hit- this would be a long shot). A concern I have is that companies in general may be on a hiring freeze during the current pandemic, but I think it would be wise to still go to school in this meantime to knock out the education aspect? Here are some of my thoughts:

Bachelors:

-Less costly
-More "starter" friendly for me as I am doing a career transition
-Leads to the same goal to pursue the CPA
-Might be considered redundant (I already have a Bachelor's Degree, so why not pursue the Master's?)

Masters: