Canada Small Business Related Questions

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hi All,

I recently join on to be part of a management team that oversees 15 dental offices in Canada. I have been implementing financial metrics for the offices to help control overhead, find break-even points, and establish baselines. I have an MBA, so I am fairly confident with accounting principles and cycles, but am by no means a professional or great with all aspects of accounting. Hence why I am here!

Dental Rundown:
-
Dentists make 40% of what they produce and collect (Canadian. in the USA, many dentists are on salary)
- Hygienists make $40/hr
- X-Ray revenue goes to owner/practice
- Lab revenue is a throughput cost to the customer
- Largest Expenses for Practice: Rent, Salaries and Wages, Dental Supplies
- Typical overhead before paying the dentist is around 60%

Problem 1: Break Even Point

Current Formula:
FC/(1-VC%)

Ex. Data: August Collections: $100k
Dentist Pay: $25k
Staff: $30k
Supplies + Lab: $14k
Facility: $4k
General + Admin: $6k

Issue: I am having trouble deciding what should be included as VC's. Existing formulas for BEP's for dentists only include Dental Supplies + Lab expenses for VC's. However, since we pay our dentists by a % of production, does this make dentist pay a VC? But then again, this 40% VC is not applicable to revenue earned from channels such as hygienists, lab, or x-rays.

Calculation Options:
#1: FC (Dentist Pay, Staff, Facility, G+A) = $65k ... VC (S+L) = $14k ... BEP = $75,581
#2: FC (Staff, Facility, G+A) = $40k ... VC (Dentist Pay, S+L) = $39k ... BEP = $65,574

Which option is correct? Or, am I completely off track here?

Problem 2: True Profitability