UK DLA overdrawn

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I set my own limited company up in November 2021 to provide audit and accountancy services and have been working on contracts with a steady day rate since then. Obviously I am an accountant so have knowledge but I have only worked in audit with large corporations so the rules surrounding small limited companies and setting things up are new to me.

I wanted to do the typical; keep my salary as low as is manageable and pay the rest as a dividend after my first year of trading.

My problem is…..I didn’t get round to setting up the payroll until June 2022 so before that I have been withdrawing what would be my net pay each month from the company and not declaring it as wages, but instead classing it as a DLA until I sorted the payroll (I had no intentions of letting that go on so long but things in life made it that way). Now my DLA has exceeded £10k and I understand that there are implications to this which I want to avoid.

I am trying to work out what the best thing to do is from here and consider the below to be my options:
- Repay the loan with my savings and hope HMRC will not find out it exceeded £10k at any point during the year. This is feasible temporarily by using my house deposit but I will likely need the funds back in the next couple of months.
- Process backdated payrolls for the months missed and pay the late submission fines. I would imagine these will be substantial given we are talking about backdating by 6-7 months.
- Process a payroll amount higher than I will actually take in cash so the difference can be netted off against the DLA. This may not get it down to £10k by the year end though as it is September 2022.
- Do nothing now, after the year end declare a dividend and net this off against the overdrawn DLA rather than taking the cash, process the >£10k DLA as a benefit in kind and make the company pay the NI liabilities.