Double Entry System for Receipt

Reaction score
Country
Afghanistan
Hello Everyone,

I am a software engineer with less accounting background and I am developing a very small software for a client. I need to store the receipt in a double entry system, I know in double entry one entry is Dr. and another entry is Cr. but in a receipt we can face with the following types of payment:

Fields (Gross Total, Discount, Advance, Remaining)

Type 1:
Gross Total: $100
Discount: $0
Advance: $0
Remaining: $100

Type 2:
Advance: $100
Remaining: $0

Type 3
Discount: $50
Advance: $50

Type 4
Discount: $25
Advance: $25
Remaining: $50

Type 3
Advance: $50
Remaining: $50

Type 3
Discount: $100
Advance: $0

Journal Table:
AccCode, ReceiptCode, Date, Dr. Cr. Description, EntryReference, EntryType, JournalType

Keeping above table in mind, how do I store the above types in Journal Table
Note: adding, removing table columns are appreciated.

Thanks

Reaction score
Country
United States
Core Developer,

It depends because every business first sets up a chart of accounts which is at least slightly different depending on the business, and that is what determines which accounts you're making transactions to/from.

For example, one business might have a checking account with the index "100", and a second checking account at another bank with index "101", and those might be cash accounts, or they might be making their sales on credit with an account "accounts receivable", or they might break up their accounts receivable in sub-journals with different accounts for each customer, maybe "accounts receivable - core_development" as a customer.