USA Legitimate Issues with Accounting careers?

Reaction score
I've been doing a lot of research on careers in accounting and would like to know if what I'm reading is painting an accurate picture of the field or not. I'm a 40 year old architect looking to make a switch to a new career (and go back to school).

Here are my concerns:

- There are not many accountant jobs out there right now, and entry level pay is not quite what is being reported by many web sources. The rosy picture that the BLS paints is far from accurate.

- This is not a career for someone who is more introverted than extroverted. In fact, companies are looking for extroverts and overachievers.

- The hours are very long, and not just around tax season. Typical hours may be 60/wk.

-Age discrimation (for those over 40) may put me at a disadvantage.

-Outsourcing to India will only make job prospects in the usa worse.

I'd really appreciate any advice from those in the know.

bklynboy

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
At my company (private NY firm) entry level is 50K which I think is slightly above the median. I do agree individuals should be extroverted but would argue this is true of any position as companies need people that will grow/have ambition given the human capital investment we make. Hours are normally 60 hours per week and more around peak reporting periods. Not sure about age discrimination though I know I have hired "older" workers as entry level but it is rare. India outsourcing I dont see as an issue as my experience (having worked in India as well) is they do not have the right skill sets and more value is provided by US workers. In fact the reason I worked in India is the local firm could not hire the right talent locally and I noticed most senior accountants tended to be either from US or Australia.

Reaction score