USA Sub-metered electric billing

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi, I am a newbie here.

I believe there are a couple of ways to do this but what is the best way in your opinion.

I have a rental property. There is one electric meter for the property and multiple tenants (each tenant in a separate unit). I use a sub meter system that tracks the individual tenants' electric usage. I invoice the tenants for their usage. I am getting everything entered into QuickBooks Online and need to know how to account for this. When I get my official utility bill, invoice the tenants, then receive tenants electric payments...how should I do this?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Fidget

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I would create a Utilities - Electricity Account to record the full bill, then have accounts for the respective tenants to recharge it out again. So, you would have:

Dr: Utilities - Electricity (with the full amount of the bill)
Cr: Supplier of Electricity (with the full amount of the bill)

Presumably, you pay the bill first then recharge it to tenants? So you'll have:

Dr: Supplier of Electricity (with full amount of bill when you pay it)
Cr: Bank (with full amount of bill when you pay it)

Then you'll have debtor accounts for the respective tenants which will record the amounts recharged to the them:

Dr: Tenant #1 - Electricity
Cr: Utilities - Electricity recharged to Tenant #1

Dr: Tenant #2 - Electricity
Cr: Utilities - Electricity recharged to Tenant #2

...and so on so that the net effect is zero in the utilities account for electricity, but you have an audit trail of how much the bill was and how much each tenant was recharged for it.

Then when the tenants pay, it'll just be:

Dr: Bank
Cr: Tenant account

Reaction score
Country
United States
Ok, so record the master bill, then pay the master bill.
But is DR: Tenant#1 - Electricity, an expense account or an income account?