UK About chart of accounts

Reaction score
Country
Sri Lanka
Hi all im new to here. My name is sanjana and im implementing a software for an animal hospital. Do note that my accounting knowledge is just basic because my major is computer science. i need to know what are the standard things that should come inside the profit and loss sheet. currently i have added revenues,cost of sales,gross profit,other operating exp,marketing selling & distribution expenses and administrative expenses. what else should be there? i have attached a screenshot of the balance sheet and profit & loss.

kirby

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Unless this is a newly opened hospital, there must be someone who handles their bookkeeping. That is the person you need to speak with. If newly opened, either teach the bookkeeper how to add accounts or be available to do so. Also the account numbering is too close together to allow for adding detail accounts. Look at sample numbering schemes on the internet.

J

John Baker

Are you trying to provide accounting services for various clients? Are you trying to go into business for yourself?
If the answer to both questions is "yes" - do not provide services. Your questions are so basic and fundamental to this profession, even way below a file clerk's position.
You seem to have similarities to anther poster who has the same lack of professional competency. This is not a profession, like minding the counter at an all night gas station. Your competency is expected to impact the well being of an important part of someone's livelihood. Think about that for a moment.

Last edited by a moderator:

bklynboy

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States