How to define debit/credit mappings for accounts?

Reaction score
Country
Pakistan
Hi

I am a software engineer and developing fee system for a group of institutes. Since institutes are different in nature, thus client wants flexibility and to be able to configure CoA on their own with multiple hierarchies like

Assets
Accounts Receivable
Tuition Fee
Exam Fund
blah blah

Similar hierarchy would be used for expenses to defined discounts etc and income. I have two questions:

1. If a students monthly fee invoice is generated involving different fee particulars, discounts etc, multiple accounts (in hierarchy) will need to be debited, credited. I can map an account receivable account like Tuition Fee with a fee particular and similarly an expense account with Discount. On invoice generation I can debit /credit relevant accounts, but how can I determine which income account to be updated from the hierarchy? I believe I need to have this mapping configure. Should I allow mapping/configuration of debit and credit account(s) against each account? which would make make accounts table something like:

Accounts_Table:
- id
- code
- title
- parent_account
- debit_account (account to be debited if defined account is credited)
- credit_account (account to be credited if defined account is debited)

2. Should Cash have child accounts, I mean cash is cash, but client is insisting on defining hierarchy for Cash too

kirby

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
I have seen this problem over and over again.

The problem is your client representative is unclear on what they want and therefore has solved their problem by moving it to your shoulders. This is done by asking for the system to do "anything and everything".
What is wrong with that is then you now have been given the responsibility to make accounting related decisions. As proof - here you are - a software engineer - asking questions on a forum for accountants.