UK Interviews and Excel Tests

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey guys. I'm a part-qualified accountant who's working in practice at the moment, I'm looking for a new role to work in the industry. I've never been the greatest at interviews, but over time, experience and better preparation; more often than not I don't have any trouble with all the popular competency based questions we typically get asked, and my feedback is generally quite positive.

Sadly, I can't say the same for these Excel tests. About half of my interviews now involve excel tests, which are normally custom made by the Finance Manager. These vary greatly, some ask to format data and produce a pivot table, or re-organise data to create a report.

My day to day work on Excel is quite basic, the most complex tasks I get involved with simply involve VLookups or producing pivot tables. I don't have to deal with massive amounts of data to reorganise, analyse and produce reports, which many of these excel tests require.

The worst thing about these tests is, as you'd expect I have to do them first, and when I've done so poor, it just makes me feel deflated for the interview and I just feel like walking out! My latest interview, I hardly got past 25% of the test and most likely I won't be short-listed. I will ask them if I can have a copy of the test to practice for the future, but most likely they won't, as it will be a generic test they use all the time, and they won't want to risk having it spread around online. I can't seem to find any of these type of tests online, and most Excel guides don't provide examples to work on.

Does anyone have any advice on how I can better prepare myself to tackle such tests in the future?

Reaction score
Country
United States