UK Itinerant, Independant Contractor! Makeup Artist Travel Expenses...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm a freelance makeup artist, who after living in London for a decade now lives two hours outside of London (in Manchester) and regularly travels in to work -believe it or not this is cheaper!

I'm currently teaching, on a freelance basis around my makeup work, a course that teaches the Business side of makeup artistry, and when discussing tax deductible expenses, want to make sure I get this absolutely right.

As a makeup artist, I work around 3 times a week, in consistently different locations and studios, it is very rare I travel to the same place more than twice in a year. My work often takes me abroad, Paris and Milan for example during fashion week, where there is a lot of work so it's financially viable for me to travel there to make a profit, but the expenses incurred are my own. It would be true to say that the majority of my work is in London, although I also work, around 10% of the time in Manchester where I now live. So my question is, how much, if any, of my travel expenses are tax deductible? Would my train tickets to London from Manchester be a viable expense?

I've read up a lot on the subject but it still seems a grey area, I know "commuting" is not considered a viable expense, but seemingly only when heading to a fixed place of work. As my work is worldwide and I essentially have to travel to wherever the work may be found, can the same be said for me? I'm heading to Wales next week on work for example! I found this article, that seemingly puts me in the same vein as builders, or chimney sweeps (!), and suggests the expenses are deductible.

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/manuals/bimmanual/BIM37620.htm

Is anyone able to clear this one up? Thanks!

Lucy

Becky

VIP Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum Lucy :)