USA Need Advice on Dealing with Customer Overpayments

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi,

I am a staff accountant at a manufacturing firm. I help manage accounts receivable. We have a large, global customer that keeps making overpayments on invoices. These overpayments are getting to the point where they are a fairly large balance. This causes a liability on our books because these are amounts that we owe to the customer and they keep building up. We have tried numerous times to contact the customer to get them to take the overpayments as credits against other invoices but we have gotten no response so far and these credits we owe them are aging and growing. We can't just apply them to other invoices without the customer knowing or acknowledging it on their end because they will then end up paying the invoices and this will cause other overpayments.

Has anybody else ever dealt with a similar situation? What is the best practice moving forward if the customer will not take the credits or even acknowledge they have them?

kirby

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
As the Wicked Witch of the West said ,"These things must be done delicately..."

Horrid example:
I know of a case where Company A had millions in such credits and when Mr. Bigshot of Company A was informed he made a big show of saying "We must do the right thing and immediately return those overpayments. Contact all the companies we owe right now and arrange that." Yes, a good thing to do. Unfortunately, Company A did not have enough bucks to do this and now the other companies were aware and on the phone daily asking for the money and very very angry that they were not being paid immediately. This caused a lot of grief for Company A's salesforce when they tried to do new business with those other companies.

Question to ponder: