USA Overhead Allocation

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am an accounting manager in a small healthcare facility, and we need to update all of our overhead rates for a wide variety of services. Overhead costs are easy to identify, the problem I’m having is pinning down the most appropriate cost driver to use for our situation. Up to this point the number of FTE’s has been used, but I don’t think that it is necessarily the most accurate.

Here are some of my perceived drawbacks of using some of the more common cost drivers:
  1. Number of FTE’s - Some departments consistently operate at 50% of their time chargeable time while others average 80%+. Going off of headcount would appear to create a misalignment of overhead to revenue generation.

2. Chargeable hours (units) - There are wide variations, even within departments, of how much we can charge based on an employees credentials (DR’s obviously bill at a much higher rate than technicians), so using billable hours could result in a disproportionately higher burden on activities performed by lower skilled employees, and vice versa.

3. Revenue or cost - Some departments use significantly less overhead than others. For example a psychiatrist needs next to no resources other than a 10x10 room to create significant revenue, whereas an surgeon also needs the square footage associated with the OR, a lot more equipment, etc to perform their job. Also, many of the psychiatrists are contracted in where the revenue is nearly all received by the facility but then paid out to the DR, so the revenue is somewhat misleading since we only make a small admin fee in actual profit.
In addition of the above factors some departments end up writing off a large percentage of their billings due to medicare, etc while others incur a relatively small write off due to bad debts or unbillables. On top of everything else, the accounting software is quite old, and while it works the reports leave quite a bit be desired.