USA Quicken and general accounting Help

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey guys,
I'm gonna be honest and I hope you'll be ok with me for asking this, but I am really new to accounting and Quicken, although I am somewhat familiar with the programs older version (2005, haha)

My grandpa has a small business and he has asked me to help organize his accounts. He did it all by hand and saved receipts etc up until now. He's got Quicken Home and Business 2015, btw.
He employs 4-5 gentlemen, and has maybe 20 or 30 regular customers for his business (lawn and gardening).
He's got seperate folders for his expenses and salaries for this year and a massive folder of invoices where he's gotten paid.
He's also his list of customers and their payment plans (some that hired him for the whole year).

I am just not sure exactly where to start or how to start in Quicken to add all this up for him. Like I mentioned, I am really new to all this and just want to help him out.

He would like to have it set up so that he can watch the income and spending, keep track of his salaries and so on. All within the company. Would it be a good idea to keep a separate file for his utilities and things like groceries, btw?

I realize this might be a broad question but I really just need advice on how to get going. I'm pretty good with computers so once I got it down I could show him.
I'm sorry...I've started watching some videos on youtube but not really getting anywhere so far.

Thanks for any advice,
Sarah.

Last edited:

smallbushelp

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Sarah,