Australia Tax Free Lifestyle Formula - Is it possible to legally pay no tax using a tax haven?

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi Folks

This is an interesting and serious question.

I’m looking for feedback and comments on the prospect of becoming a legal non-tax resident and using valid legal structures to have an ‘international’ lifestyle and legally pay no tax on my business and personal income.

Currently I am a legal tax resident of Australia with dual Australian and New Zealand citizenship.

FYI the Corporate Tax Rate is 30% and the Individual Tax Rate is usually between 30 to 40% depending on your income as seen here https://www.ato.gov.au/Rates/Individual-income-tax-rates/

I have friends living in Dubai primarily for the tax benefits and have enjoyed visiting them and whilst I find the place interesting it’s not a place I would ideally choose to live for many reasons.

My ‘Tax Free Lifestyle Formula’ involves some simple premises as follows –

1. Leave Australia Permanently. I would even go so far as to sell my house, my car and dispose of all significant assets except for a few things I may leave with friends and family such as books, CD’s, movies, backup computer and backup hard drives.

2. Never stay anywhere long enough to be classified a tax resident.

3. Incorporate a new company, legally, in a tax haven such as the Cayman Islands where I legally pay little to no tax on my income.

4. ‘Live’ in at least four countries each year for an average of three months ensuring compliance with number 2 above.

Form the date I leave Australia permanently I am no longer a Tax Resident as seen here –

https://www.ato.gov.au/Individuals/International-tax-for-individuals/Work-out-your-tax-residency/