USA Data Scientist in Accounting

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello All,

I am needing some guidance on establishing a career as an accounting data scientist . I graduated with a BS in Biology over a decade ago and worked for a healthcare facility for 15 years. During my employment, I returned to school to complete a MBA and an undergraduate certificate in Accounting. In 2019, I decided to leave the healthcare service sector and to establish a career in Accounting. I began to work as an Accounting and Administrative Assistant since Jan 2020. In the last 8 months, I have been learning and updating my knowledge on Taxation, Excel, Quickbooks and acquiring additional work experiences from volunteering. I feel I am ready to decide on a career path for accounting. I am most intrigued by the technology advancements all over the world and the adapting of the technology in accounting. I want to work as a data scientist in accounting but have difficulty to get start. What are the best skill sets for data scientists in accounting and where do I look to find entry level positions? Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

Steve-LevelUp

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
Canada
Although this is just from personal experience, I have not seen Data Scientists working within the accounting field. I have seen Data Scientists working for accountants, preparing models, reports, and analysis that is more about the data itself and less about accounting. An example would be a market wide/state wide pricing analysis for given market.

Alternatively, there is a Financial Analyst, which functions can vary depending on the firm, but could be analyzing corporate data for stock performance/investment purposes, or an internal analyst which provides input and commentary based on variances and changes over time in performance.