Financial accounting documents and managerial accounting documents

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a beginner in accounting and I have come to one, a bit confusing part.I have an annual report in 10k form, which I have to go through and then answer few questions regarding it.

The confusing question I face is whether this 10k form annual report is a document of financial or managerial accounting ?

I have tried to solve this by analyzing the five aspects (purpose of report, primary users, content, verification, etc.) and my opinion was so divided. :mad:

I would appreciate someone's assistance on this.

Counterofbeans

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Financial and it isn't even close.

I live 10Ks. You have any questions, let me know.

Reaction score
Hi Counterofbeans,

thanks for your response.

The main source of my confusion was that the course I am doing is called 'Managerial accounting' (this is a silly reason for suspecting that the report is managerial doc, I know).

In giving a constructive answer, would it be okay to say that this report is financial because:

-it is released for public (so primary users are external users)
-it is periodically made (annually, while managerial reports are made whenever needed)
-has a general purpose (not a specific purpose, as it would in managerial)
-focused on organization as a whole (in managerial it would be on specific dept's ?)
-verified by Touche & Deloitte LLP (managerial doc's never need to be verified at all)

... ?

In addition to this, are all 10k's basically considered as financial accounting documents ?

Thanks a lot.

Counterofbeans

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
No to most above. Step back and ask yourself what financial accounting is vs.managerial accounting. I'm guessing you just started, for the teacher is probably trying to show you the difference...