Frazzled Student Bookkeeper!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all!

My name is Kayla, I live in WI, and am currently going to school for my associates in accounting online. I should graduate by the end of the year. In preparation of that I decided to look for an introductory accounting position. I found a position, which I thought was suitable and was hired. Boy! Did I get a big surprise! I think what my boss really wanted was an experienced accountant. So now I am trying to figure out not only Quickbooks, but how to manage the accounts for an entire, albeit small business. Work is frazzling, but I thought my boss would be knowledgeable enough to help me. I was also wrong there too! To be honest I have no hands on accounting experience, and neither does he. I'm terrified of ruining his accounts, and Quickbooks is frustrating! Any advice or suggestions would be so helpful!

kirby

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
If you can afford to do so then it is time to bail out of this job. As a student your focus should be on your studies.

Reaction score
Country
United States
If you can afford to do so then it is time to bail out of this job. As a student your focus should be on your studies.
Hey Kirby,

Unfortunately, that is not an option financially, not to mention I only attend school part-time.

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Lots of reading in your spare time as there is no fast tracking

Reaction score
Country
United States
Here's a list to all the official Quickbooks tutorials: http://quickbooks.intuit.com/tutorials/all-quickbooks-tutorials/

Whenever I'm put in to an established system, I spend a lot of time poking around the previous entries to try and figure out how the last one ran things. Receipt categories and whatnot. If you have some spare time, perhaps you can read the other entries to give you an idea how to handle the confusing new ones?

Reaction score
Country
United States