USA HELP: Huge Phantom Income gain passed on to me via K-1. How is this allowed?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi,

I am a full time trader in securities and my elected accounting method is Marked to Market. I had a trade in USO a exchange traded fund that is structured as a partnership and issues a K-1 to anyone who bought their issue during the year.

Last year I had this trade which using basic math was roughly a $14k gain. Here are the numbers pulled from my account trade history.

11/28/2014 12:38:56 Bought 30000 USO @ 25.67

11/28/2014 12:38:56 Bought 9100 USO @ 25.6699

11/28/2014 12:38:56 Bought 900 USO @ 25.665

12/01/2014 14:16:26 Sold 40000 USO @ 26.02

But the K-1 I was issued (dumped on me) a $234k Capital Loss?

To make matters worse and unfortunately before I learned how damaging even touching these K-1 issuing exchange traded products are I had already had made another trade early in 2015. And this was the actual trade numbers pulled straight from my account history. This time basic math I ended up with a $23k loss

12/12/2014 18:11:05 Bought 9900 USO @ 21.9

04/15/2015 12:03:00 Sold 9900 USO @ 19.5701

And when I got my K-1 for 2015 for the last trade it seems the issuer dumped a $18k Capital Loss and a $50K ORDINARY GAIN and not a capital gain?? A capital gain and ordinary gain for the same K-1 and for the same trade?

The excuse from the issuer "The United States Commodity Funds" says that since they use commodity futures contracts to track the price of crude Oil their losses were passed on to investors (partners).