UK How to get out of practice?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

Just a bit in a rut in terms of career progression and was wondering if anyone else has been in my situation and want to share their experience or any advice.

I am a qualified chartered accountant and I have been in practice for about 10 years. I was trained in a small practice (small and medium companies and small self-employed accounts) and stayed their for 6 years.I learnt a lot for the first 2 years but after that I plateaued as was doing the same work over and over and we did not have any audit work. For personal reasons, I did not move until 6 years later. I then joined a 5 partner practice in London where I mostly worked on management accounts. The statutory accounts I worked on were for smaller companies and not very challenging. I was never put on audit jobs when requested (mostly because of management accounts timing every month). After two years, I joined a top 20 firm as a senior in the accountancy department. The accounts I work on a daily basis are straight forward and there's very little use of accounting standards as such. No tax work either as all done by the tax department. I also do book-keeping and management accounts and while I was on maternity leave, a trainee without any qualification has been doing that. Just to say anyone at my work can do what I do.

I feel like I am a qualified chartered accountant just on paper, I have never really dealt with any share scheme, any complex financial instrument or any real complex accounting issue. I want to move into industry but I keep getting rejected for jobs that I feel I am right for. I get a lot of interest from recruiters for top jobs like group accountant, head FC etc based on my 10 years experience and working in a top 20 firm.