USA know Next To Nothing About Accounting But About To Graduate

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm about to graduate in May with a degree in accounting but I know next to nothing about it. There are various reasons for me not knowing much about accounting but it's mostly due to me not being a good student. Most of what I learned didn't stick. I'm pretty busy right now but do you think it would be a good use of my time if I studied my old introductory accounting, and intermediate accounting textbooks before I graduate, so I will know what to do if and when I get a job in accounting?

kirby

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Maybe you do know the subject but just don't feel like you do. After all, you are graduating. Was this an online school or a brick and mortar school? Is the school considered a good school?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Nah, I don't just feel like I don't know accounting. I had some generous teachers that curved grades in the past, that is probably the only reason I'm graduating. I really want to prove to myself that I can learn and do well in accounting because I'm feeling really defeated. It's like accounting knocked me out and now I want a rematch. I don't know what to do.

This was a brick and mortar school. It's an okay school, not the best.

kirby

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Based on what you said, you are smart to ask if you should re-study your acctg books. Right now, in an interview your lack of confidence in your education will be apparent and outcome will be bad for you. So yeah - go hit the books and fix this.

Reaction score
Country
United States