Learning About Writing Techniques in Accounting

Reaction score
I am in my second year of school for accounting, and I am hoping that someone who is currently a practicing accountant could take the time to answer some questions for a business communications class that I am taking. I would greatly appreciate it.

What kind of writing do you do?
What kind of planning do you do before writing?
Where do you get information?
Do you brainstorm? Make lists?
Do you compose with pen and paper, a computer, or a dictating machine?
How many e-mail messages do you typically write in a day?
How long does it take you to compose a routine one or two page memo or letter?
Do you revise? How often?
Do you have a preferred method for proofreading?
When you have questions about grammar and mechanics, what or whom do you consult?
Does anyone read your drafts and make suggestions?
Can you describe your entire composition process?
Do you ever work with others to produce a document?
How does this process work?
What makes writing easier or harder for you?
Have your writing methods and skills changed since you left school?

Reaction score
Hi Nessnate,

Could you please elaborate on why you are asking these questions to help in answering them

Thanks!

Reaction score
Yes. In my business communications class, we are studying effective business writing. Part of an upcoming assignment involves finding out more about how much and what kinds of writing our chosen field may require, in my case accounting, whether it is memos, e-mails, letters to upper management, etc.

Reaction score
Hi,

Please see the responses. I have kept them short and sweet and you may elaborate. I have used a very practical approach to things whereas you might need some textbook approaches that you may need to add in.

What kind of writing do you do? Generally only emails. Or commentary for management on variances month on month,etc