USA Payroll Calculation for Additional pay that is not a bonus

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello. Good Morning.

I work for a Municipality in California and I'm trying to manually calculate my paycheck. The online paycheck calculators don't have a place to include additional pay which is not a bonus. We are provided money that goes toward our health insurance premiums but if we choose a plan that doesn't use all those funds then we are paid the difference but it is taxable at a different percentage than regular pay or a bonus.

I'm rolling out a new ERP and all employees will be getting a cost of living increase at the start of the new fiscal year, also some employees will be getting a new hourly rate as well to get us closer to the market rate. I want to make sure the calculations are correct but my background is in IT and I don't know the accounting lingo. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.
Nelli

kirby

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Oh brother!
I cannot count the number of times I've had to fix a situation where the IT person was NOT given a financial person to check the accuracy of the new accounting system. Put simply - you need to have a financial person to be made part of your ERP rollout who can be responsible for verifying the financial accuracy of the system. And that is immensely true for systems that do payroll, and even more so if there is a union payroll or a deferred compensation plan. Please go get someone like that assigned to your project.
And if I were you i'd also insist on a formal UAT with signoff by the endusers.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Country
United States