USA Single member S-Corp noob questions

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all, I've been looking for a place to discuss the operations of a single member S Corp and how to effectively run the financials. I don't have a super complicated operation with a bunch of assets or multiple employees, etc.

Background: I created an S Corp back in 2015 and it's been a very rough ride so far trying to learn everything. I'm an independent contractor/freelancer on Upwork and make approximately $72k a year from various projects. Those not familiar with the platform, Upwork provides an online workplace, where companies hire, manage, and pay freelancers through their web-based platform.

On Upwork, any freelancer account has to be in your name with an associated personal bank account, but you can also set up something called an agency in your S-Corp name and with your S-Corp bank account and apply under your agency as the sole agency freelancer. Payments then go to the agency."

-Upwork payments are transferred to my S Corp business account every week, around $1,400 a week is added.
-I periodically draw off of the S Corp account and transfer into my personal checking account.

On the S Corp side:
1) I am required to e-file Form 1120-S to the IRS by 3/16 of every year?
2) Should I be filing Form 941 if I'm essentially just paying myself and nobody else?
3) Can I take my S corporation income as shareholder distributions to avoid having to withhold taxes? Or since I'm doing the accounting for my own S Corp, would I be considered doing a service and would be forced into payroll taxes for myself?

On the Individual Taxes side:
1) Do I need to create an actual W2 from the S Corp to myself for the personal taxes?

Thanks for all the help ahead of time, I'm very in the dark of what to do. Wilky

Reaction score
Country
United States
Not a professional accountant. Like you, looking to be able to discuss info.