USA help with form 941-x situation

Reaction score
Country
United States
Sorry in advance for the long thread.

I am an individual with a w-2 job and do contracting 1099 work on the side. I've been doing this for a few years and had an accountant prepare my taxes for me for the initial several years. I was very comfortable with the reporting and withholding requirements (so I thought) after this initial period so I attempted to do my own taxes last year (2016).

My contracting business is set taxed as an S-corp and was initially set up at 50:50 split between wages and distributions in the first few years. Last year, I wanted to increase my wages to about a 75:25 wages to distributions ratio (for several reasons).

My pay from the 1099 job is rather erratic and wages were (on the advice of my accountant) estimated to be paid evenly throughout the first 10 months of the year.

Here's the problem... throughout all of last year I mistakenly reported and withheld (to federal and state agencies) amounts reflecting the smaller estimated DISTRIBUTIONS instead of wages as I was supposed to. This therefore leaves me with a significant underpayment of federal withholding (I've withheld enough for SS and medicare) throughout the year on the order of several tens of thousands of dollars.

A W-2/W-3 has already been sent reflecting the correct wage base but I am left with the discrepancy of the underpayments of withholding on quarterly forms 941.