USA Help with staying motivated to study for CMA

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi,

I am currently studying for the CMA and looking for some advice. I am a staff accountant handling general accounting at a manufacturing company, before that, I was a tax associate for 4 years. So I have some general accounting and tax as a background with a master's degree in accounting.

I originally started studying for the CPA and took Far and Reg and did not pass either. I thought the CMA might be more interesting since I'm in manufacturing accounting now, so I started studying for it this year. My problem is, I get bored with studying all the time and then don't end up studying nearly enough to pass these tests. It was different in college because I was not studying nearly as much material for a test as I am now, plus my degree program had group projects where we worked on assignments in teams and that kept things interesting and gave me the opportunity to socialize. Now I am just in a room home alone doing one multiple choice question after another. Does anyone have any advice about dealing with boredom and staying motivated while studying for these certifications? I feel like it is so hard to concentrate and sit down and do 20 - 50 multiple choice questions in order to practice. I could use any advice that anyone has.

Reaction score
Country
India
US CMAs are considered highly desirable for FP&A job roles (financial reporting, financial planning, financial analysis and financial decision making). The US CMA curriculum also focuses on developing and testing skills required to perform the aforementioned jobs. Many American CFOs choose to be US CMAs themselves and prefer to hire US CMAs in their teams. CMAs expertise in USGAAP and understand its distinctions from IFRS.