I was asked these questions in a phone interview....

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi All,

I'm a new here and I decided to join this forum because I want to have a place that I can learn to improve myself and share my thought about the accounting field. I know that I am not very good at accounting but I'm always willing to learn.

I am looking for a position like an account payable or junior accountant. And today I had a phone interview. I don't know how to say at this time, but even though I told myself many times, I still have a feeling that I am useless.

Honestly, I didn't expect that I was asked these questions in an interview over the phone. After telling me about the company and himself, the manager asked me:
- For example, we rent a building and every month we receive an invoice billed $10000 for the time date 8 to date 7. Ex: Feb 8 to Mar 7. You're now on Mar and doing the closing for Feb. What will you do? - My thought: at first, I thought he asked about what account I will put in. But it wasn't. Then he asked "What number will you put in credit and debit? what will you do with $10k?. My answer was: I put $10k in debit and credit. I wanted to ask him more, but look like he didn't want to spend much time and patient on it.

- We move to the 2nd question: you run a trial balance, you see $100k. However, in the bank, the money is actually $300k. How do you explain that? and why the amount is different? - My answer: maybe we receive money from customers but we have not applied into cash receipt yet.

- Tell me the supposed reasons to explain why money in the bank is difference because the money in bank does not always stay the same. Tell me why? - My answer: there are some reasons such as: receive money from customer but does not apply yet. Or issue the checks but the vendors have not cashed out the checks yet.