USA Looking to make a career change to accounting, unsure of my options.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi. I am a painter (construction) turned student looking to make a career change. Painting pays decent and the benefits with the union are to be envied, but I'm thinking that long term I should do something else. Work dies down during the winter, often times to the point of seasonal layoffs, so my summer checks pay for my winter rent. Also, it's really hard on my body. It's not something that I want to be doing in my 40's and 50's.

So I enrolled in school after a few years off and started working on a business degree I started some time ago. I'm taking an accounting class and I'm surprised at how quick I'm picking up on it and how interesting it is to me.

I'm just weighing my options. My college offers an AAS degree designed to prepare students for bookkeeping positions. This interests me. The pay range is similar to what I'm making and could make as a painter, without the seasonal layoff. It would be nice to be in and out of school with minimal debt. However, through my own research I've found that technology is phasing bookkeepers out. According to BLS, clerk/bookkeeper jobs are declining for that reason.

If I take out a few loans and invest more time I could make more long term, and have expanded duties and responsibility. What is your take on this? Is an AAS worth considering or should I go all the way?

JR.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi. I am a painter (construction) turned student looking to make a career change. Painting pays decent and the benefits with the union are to be envied, but I'm thinking that long term I should do something else. Work dies down during the winter, often times to the point of seasonal layoffs, so my summer checks pay for my winter rent. Also, it's really hard on my body. It's not something that I want to be doing in my 40's and 50's.