Please Help Baby Accountant (Me)

Reaction score
Dear All,

Really stupid questions coming up but please answer at will...

I graduated from college with an accounting degree and currently work at a non-profit gym. This is my first experience with accounting but after 3 months of employment, my supervisor is a little old school I think, very hard to ask questions and understand. A lovely lady though.

I joined to learn the accounting profession after struggling through college. I learned how to make accounting entries, read financial statements, conduct bank reconciliations, create chart of accounts and basic federal tax laws. Other than that, I am a novice. Could someone PLEASE explain how I can really get to grips with accounting after graduation? I am trying to understand the accounting cycle at a non-profit, the monthly cycle, adjusting entries and such but I am struggling. Also, what is the best way to understand taxation?

Many thanks in advance. I really am trying to do my best but lack a mentor. Please help!

Counterofbeans

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
You're going to need to be more specific.

I have no idea how to even approach, "how I can really get to grips with accounting after graduation?"

It's just too open ended

Reaction score
Hi Counterofbeans,

Thank you for responding. I hope this will make more sense...

My boss does not use QuickBooks or PeachTree, etc. She uses "The Accounting Software" have you ever heard of it? It looks like something from the 90's, which may be just fine, I am curious to hear from one with more experience.

Also, I am trying to make the connection from the General Ledger Entries all the way to the Financial Statements. I understand that each journal entry affects accounts in the Chart of Accounts, but I get really confused about Account Payable Accruals and the Reversing Entries that she makes each month. Does that make a little more sense?