USA Thinking about taking the CPA Please Help Answer Brief Questions

Reaction score
Country
United States
I graduated with an accounting degree years ago and due to not networking enough I couldn't land a job. I worked deadend jobs for years. I have 4 more credit hours to go to qualify for the CPA. I'm currently in school for data science and machine learning (unfortunately this school doesn't qualify for credit hours). Would love to combine accounting with programming.

1) Do FEMA credits still count?
2) What study systems are you using to study for the CPA? I'm not sure how much money I can spend but the higher end stuff like Becker might be out of my range. I will definitely be using cpareviewforfree.
3) Will the CPA help me with getting hired in an accounting firm? I'm really insecure about getting hired in an accounting firm. Will even completing 2 of the exams help my odds?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey Chicago!

1) This really depends on your state. I lived in Wisconsin and I had FEMA credits, but I had to have them transferred to and accepted on a college transcript. I also had 170 credits in total of which 12 were from FEMA so the state may have disregarded them and just used my other credits.

2) Highly recommend Roger CPA Review. Absolutely fantastic for me in passing the CPA exam first time on every try. Lessons are engaging and keep you energized. Even with costs Roger CPA Review is often running discounts or offers payment options so definitely check it out.

3) Yes a CPA would definitely help get you hired at an accounting firm and be able to rise in the company. However, just passing a few exams may not be enough. More than anything else what firms look for are work experience and education.

If you have anymore questions or want to discuss feel free to direct message me.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey UncleSam.