USA Side Business Offering Firearms and Defense Training - Deduction Question

Reaction score
Country
United States
Best I could find on this was a LinkedIn article and lots of security guard related items to a single handgun, rifle, or self defense classes.

I offer classes on marksmanship, firearm safety, as well as strategy and defensive maneuvers. I'm new to it and the turnout has been very small.

Part of the classes is range time where the typical student shoots 200+ rounds. I'm concerned I won't be able to deduct the cost of ammunition provided as a component of the class. Also, I spend extensive time honing my own skills to be able to teach these classes - this causes me to incur course expense as well as shooting through many rounds and familiarizing myself with different firearm formats (handgun, shotgun, rifle).

The items I'm specifically looking to deduct are:
  • Firearms (limited - I only anticipate purchasing 5-6 and have only purchased 2)
  • Ammunition
  • Targets
  • PPE - eye & ear protection
  • Optics
  • Shot timers
  • Course attendance & instructor certification
  • Safe for protecting business firearms stored at home (my personal safe is full)
  • Range membership
I appreciate the help on what I feel like is a very narrow question. If anyone knows of any documentation out there I would surely appreciate it!

DrStrangeLove

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
From what you wrote, the biggest issue I see is dual-use (business use vs. personal use) assets.