USA 501c3 Inurement Clause

Reaction score
I am administrator of mission trips at my church. To comply with 501c3 inurement clause (I am not an expert on this - just want to do things properly), the policy has always been for charitable contributions for the individual mission trips, check is made payable to the church, and memo line stated what I'll fictitiously (for this posting) call 2012 AFRICA MISSION TRIP. Let's say I have ten team members. Airfare is $1000, in country reasonable/necessary expenses are $500 per person (food/lodging). So for my ten team members to travel to Africa to do ministry work costs $15,000. There is no personal private benefit. They have to pay for their own souvenirs, snack items during travel, shots, etc. (any and all items that are not specifically attributable to the ministry work are not covered. So I have a clear understanding of this details.