Should I go for a Masters of Accounting?

Reaction score
Hello,

I just graduated in May with a Bachelors Degree in Architecture but am considering switching to the accounting field. Would it be in my best interest to go on to get a Masters of Accounting even though I have no previous accounting/business classes, OR should I go back for a Bachelors of Accounting?

My main concern is that if I get a Masters of Accounting without a Bachelors in Accounting I wouldn't be hired after graduate school.

Thoughts?

Reaction score
I have a Master's of Science in Accounting. I would think it would be difficult if even possible to get one w/o any previous classes in that area. You'd probably have to start at the beginning to even get the basic business requirements.

Reaction score
I am trying to make the same decision. I have a BA in Social Sciences, with a Business Minor, so I have taken SOME accounting classes, though no where near what someone with a BA in Accounting would have taken. I am wondering if you could do an Accounting Certificate as a basis for a Masters if you already have the BA?

Reaction score
I also have a bachelor in computer science, so I am in a program to certify me to take the CPA exam. Since I had no accounting classes, I have to take two years worth of courses- about 9 hours each for two spring and two fall sessions and also two summer sessions. But it starts you at the beginning. I live in Texas. I don't know if this program specifically is for Texas but as long as you have completed certain courses, you qualify to take the CPA exam.

Reaction score
I just graduated in May with a Bachelors Degree in Architecture but am considering switching to the accounting field. Would it be in my best interest to go on to get a Masters of Accounting even though I have no previous accounting/business classes, OR should I go back for a Bachelors of Accounting?