USA Accounting Career Advice Needed

Reaction score
Country
United States
Good Afternoon,
I am just writing to see exactly how I should go about getting some work experience in the accounting field. I am a military veteran that has been in school for over a year. I will be getting my Associate's Degree in November for Accounting Fundamentals and I have a 3.54 GPA. I am currently employed, but the field that I got into (insurance) is not what I expected. Therefore, I am trying to get some real accounting work experience. Does anyone have advice as to how I go about getting some legit accounting work experience on a lower level? I have applied for plenty of these types of jobs, but even they are requiring work experience of at least a year and I have not heard back from any of them.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi There! I am a Vet as well. Although you will find jobs that say "we hire vets", you will come across several like the field you mentioned asking for experience. How do you get experience if nobody will hire you without it? My advice is start a home based business in financials. Give yourself a job and don't waste money on a degree. I am with a company that teaches wealth building strategies and you earn residual income.

But before we get into that, if you're in insurance, your company should already offer products and services that assist people who are looking for financial advice, retirements, savings, etc. Why leave insurance and go to accounting? They are very similar in Financial/Risk.