Methods to Declare Revenue and EBITDA Calculation

Reaction score
First, I am not an accountant. I am recently a manager of a laboratory that was formerly a corporate internal lab, but is not commercial, working for a small LLC type corporation. So I am new to some of these calculations.

We have a couple of business processes for which I have poor EBITDA %ages (on a good month, around 23%, on a bad month, in the -5% vicinity). BUT.... I think there is something wrong with how the accounting is being done. So I'd like some advice on discussions with our accounting department, and suggestions on this (don't want to do anything not legal).

PROBLEM ONE - REBUILT UNIT

For proprietary reasons, I won't mention the actual products. We make a product where the customer sends in a unit. We rebuild the unit and reclaim some materials, give them a credit for the reclaim materials (some high value components can be recycled). We rebuild the unit and give back to the customer. Lets say for discussion that a new unit price is $3000, and a rebuilt unit price is $1000.

The accounting method used (and please excuse my lack of accountin terminology - although I took a semester in college and a year in high school) - is to declare a revenue on a rebuilt unit of $3000 in our P&L revenue column. Then, since it is a $1000 priced, rebuilt unit, they charge an expense of $2000 to bring us back down to the $1000 price of the rebuilt unit. So on $3000 of revenue, before even having the expenses really associated, we have an accounting expense of $2000. Then we also have our labor costs and material costs. This makes our revenue numbers look good, but our EBITDA is bad.

So, is this THE only way to account for this? If not, I urgently need some ideas of another way to recommend to our accounting department.

PROBLEM TWO - CONTRACTOR SERVICES