USA Screwed up Accountant

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have a new technical accounting boss. She is a CPA with several years of experience.

She recently expressed that Accounting isn't my field due to the repeated mistakes I make. However, I was hired knowing I had no previous experience. I don't get a lot of lessons. I finished my Bachelor's in Business last year. I have a hard time sitting at my desk for a full day, I eat at my desk, I don't have much movement, so I need to get away, but then I don't feel anyone else does that.

When I take classes, I want Accounting classes. I picked accounting because I felt confident, but now, not so much. So now I am just a little screwed up. Do I try for a new job or change careers to HR (which has been suggested on several occasions)??? I want to do Accounting, but I am not good at it. I'm a dancer that loves to dance, but suck at dancing!

Becky

VIP Member
Reaction score
I'm sorry to hear that. FWIW it may just be that she is a bad teacher! Everyone makes mistakes, it's a big part of how we learn. If you're making the same mistakes over and over and have difficulty seeing that they're mistakes then that is different though. Needing to get away from your desk isn't necessarily a bad sign, but it may indicate that you're bored or aren't fully engaging with your work. Only you can know what is best for you, if you really enjoy accountancy then keep at it and your skills and knowledge will improve.

kirby

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
A reverie: You move to HR in your present firm then are a key part of helping to exit New Technical Accounting Boss from the firm.
It could happen...

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have a new technical accounting boss. She is a CPA with several years of experience.