Switching careers to accounting

Reaction score
I am currently a music teacher (middle school band teacher) and am unhappy with my career choice. My undergraduate degree was a Bachelor of Music degree, and besides a core curriculum of general education classes in an Honors program, all my other classes were music or education.

If I decide to pursue a career in accounting after investigating further, what are my educational options? Would I have to start from square one and start a four-year undergraduate degree? Are there any graduate programs available to me that would lead me to a career in accounting in a shorter time? My undergraduate gpa is strong, but I have no specific courses besides the gen ed honors program that display a strong potential for accounting coursework.

Thank you all for any guidance!

Reaction score
Excellent career choice, but there are some hurdles. The requirements would depend on what you want to accomplish. Do you want to be a bookkeeper, an accountant, or a Certified Public Accountant. The rules vary by state, so you should check with your State Board of Accountancy, but to become a CPA, generally, you need at least 30 hours of core accounting classes, as part of a 150-hour degree (masters degree) to sit for the CPA exam. Once you have the required college hours, and have passed all parts of the CPA exam, then you generally need 1,000 - 2,000 hours of work experience under the direction of a CPA.

Again, check with your State Board of Public Accountancy. You can also check the main governing organization for certified public accountants, the American Society of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) at aicpa.org. Good luck!

I hope this helps. Let me know if I can be of further assistance at tuncap.com

Regards,
Russell Tuncap, CMA, CPA

Reaction score