Some advice please.

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am really new to accounting so if any of the following makes no sense at all I must apologize in advance. Ok, So we are opening a business in a country where the tax laws are, shall we say of no real importance. So I am wondering if I still need to keep track of depreciation as I will not be filing tax returns or benefiting from a favourable tax rate to cover depreciation expenses?

I don't completely understand depreciation but I will explain a little about our project and maybe you can advise me a little. The total initial investment in buildings is $600,000 using straight line depreciation with a usable life of 25 years I make that depreciation rate of $24,000 a year.

So if I was recording this for tax purposes would how would I need to record this? something like this?
Fixed asset buildings- $600,000
Annual depreciation expense - $24,000
Net asset buildings value - $576,000

What I don't really understand is where does that $24,000 expense go because wouldn't that expense would come from the company's operating profits?? the $600,000 is the initial investment so does it go back to repaying the investment? or does it just stay in the bank until its needed for the replacement or repair of the buildings etc..? Or am I completely misunderstanding the concept? because I have also noticed an accumulated depreciation account is this what i should use instead of the expense account as it keeps the cash value as a constant?.

Fixed asset buildings- $600,000
Accumulated depreciation - $24,000
Net asset buildings value - $576,000
Total asset value - $600,000

So if depreciation is just used for tax purposes would it be a good idea to create an account and annually put a percentage of the company profits to cover future building repairs etc...

I am sorry if my explanation is a bit all over the place as I said I am new to all this. I thanks you in advance for any advice.

Regards,

Japz

Reaction score